Nation State of Hawai’i

Our History

KUMULIPO (Creation) The Origin of the World and Genealogy of the Kanaka Hawai’i Maoli People

Nation of Hawaii’s mission is to restore, maintain and preserve the sophisticated religion, language and culture of the Native Hawaiian people, who prior to the overthrow, lived in a highly organized, self-sufficient, subsistent social system based on Communal Land Tenure. (pre-mahele)


Origin, genesis, source of life, mystery. The Kumulipo is an 18th-century chant that records the beginnings of the Hawaiian world. This chant remains as an authentic work or primitive literature and is one of the principal sources of information on Hawaiian mythology, early culture, political structure, and way of life for the Hawaiian people.

Historical timeline

Explore the history of our nation through a chronology of milestones, anniversaries and important dates.

Historical Chronology

1810 – Kamehameha establishes a Unified Monarchial Government for the Hawaiian Islands.
1826 – Treaty w/ USA Peace, Friendship & Commerce.
1836 – Treaty w/ Great Britain, Lord E. Russell’s Treaty.
1839 – Hawaiian Bill of Rights, Magna Charta of Hawai’i
1839 – Treaty w/ France, Captain La Place’s Convention.

1840 – Hawaiian Kingdom Constitution
Though all the land belonged to King Kamehameha I, “it was Not his own private property.” It belonged to the chiefs & the people in communal, of whom Kamehameha I was the head & had management of the landed property.

1842 – Recognition, by USA no formal Treaty was necessary.
1846 – Recognition by Britain & France Hawaii’s Independence
1846 – Treaty w/ Great Britain
1846 – Treaty w/ Denmark
1848 – Treaty w/ Hamburg

1848 – The Great (Overthrow of the Land) Mahele
Communal Land Tenure is divided into pieces of royal patent deeds, land commission awards; private ownership prevails “Subject to Native Tenant Rights.”

1848 – Consular Notices Danish & Hamburg Treaties
1849 – Treaty w/ USA Friendship, Commerce, & Navigation.
1852 – Hawaiian Kingdom Constitution
1852 – Treaty w/ Sweden & Norway
1853 – Treaty w/ Tahiti
1854 – Treaty w/ Bremen
1854 – Proclamation of Neutrality
1858 – Treaty w/France
1859 – Trust – Queen’s Hospital – Free Health for Hawaiians
1862 – Treaty w/ Belgium
1862 – Treaty w/ Netherlands
1863 – Treaty w/ Italy
1863 – Treaty w/ Spain
1864 – Treaty w/ Swiss Confederation
1864 – Hawaiian Kingdom Confederation
1869 – Treaty w/ Russia
1871 – Treaty w/ Japan
1874 – Postal convention w/ New South Wales
1875 – Treaty w/ USA Reciprocity Treaty
1877 – Trust – Lunalilo Home for the aged Hawaiian
1879 – Treaty w/ German Empire
1881 – Trust – Kapiolani Maternity Hospital free maternity
1882 – Provisional Convention w/ Portugal
1884 – Supplemental Convention w/USA
1884 – Money Order regulation w/ Hong Kong
1884 – Trust – Kamehameha Schools, for education
1885 – Universal Postal Union additional Act of Lisbon
1886 – Convention w/ Japan
1886 – Universal Postal Union Ratification
1887 – Treaty w/ USA additional to reciprocity treaty
1887 – Treaty w/ Samoa
1893 – Draft Constitution of Queen Lili’uokalani failed

January 17, 1893 – Overthrow of the Hawaiian Kingdom
U.S. Minister John L. Stevens, a Committee of Safety of American & European sugar planters, missionary descendants & financiers who deposed the Hawaiian monarchy and proclaimed a provisional government.

1893 – Provisional Government
1894 – Republic of Hawaii

1898 – Ku’e Petition Stops U.S. Treaty of Annexation.
The Newlands Joint Resolution, an Act of U.S. Congress to Annex (republic) Hawaii and create the Territory of Hawaii in its place. There was NO Treaty of Annexation.

1900 – Organic Act – a Government for the Territory
1909 Trust – Queen Lili’uokalani’s Children Center
1921 Trust – Hawaiian Homes Commission Act

1945 – United Nations Decolonization
Sacred trust obligation & political process (FAILS). National Identity of Hawaiian people stolen by a multi-cultural society.

1959 – 50th State Admissions Act – creates DHHL
1978 – Hawaii State Con Con creates OHA
1980 – Trust – First Office of Hawaiian Affairs elections
1988 – Native Hawaiian Health Care Act – Papa O la Lokahi
1993 – Act 359 2nd Political Process (FAILED)

November 23, 1993 – U.S. Public Law 103-150
Apology for the Overthrow of the Hawaiian Kingdom Legal Opinion by Francis A. Boyle, International Law Professor.
“After 100 years, the United States government, has finally and officially conceded, that Native Hawaiian people have the right to restore the independent nation state that you had in 1893 when the U.S. came and destroyed it. The Native Hawaiian people have the right to now go out proclaim the restoration of that state.”

1994 – Proclamation: Restoring Hawai’i’s Independence
1994 – President Clinton letter to The Head of State
1995 – Hawai’i Constitution 1995
1995 – Declaration of National State of Emergency
1995 – Executive Order 95-001 – The Refuge Act
1995 – Executive Order 95-002 – The Passport Act
1996 – PU’A Foundation / UCC settlement for Overthrow
2001 – DLNR G.L. #S5368 – Recognition of Nation of Hawaii
2002 – Executive Order 95-003 – The Tribunal Act
2011 – Act 195 3rd Political Process (FAILED)
2015 – E.O. 95-004 – The National Monetary System Act
2015 – Japan Patent Office Registration of ALOHACOIN

2015 – Trip to Tokyo, Japan
To promote the ALOHACOIN crypto currency with Japanese businesses and government representatives, mainly from Shizuoka prefecture. We then flew to Yamagata prefecture at Haguro shrine and participated in a ceremony with Nashimoto Denka and the 3 legged Crow.

2016 – ALOHACOIN Registration Date & #5852538
2016 – First ALOHACOIN received by the Head of State
2016 – ALOHACOIN Crypto Currency TN filed with DCCA
2017 – Japan legalizes crypto-currencies in their Country
January 1, 2018 – first AlohaCoin draft white paper released
January 15, 2018 – AlohaCoin draft white paper update
January 17, 2018 – 125 Years since the Overthrow the AlohaCoin draft white paper updated
February 28, 2018 – latest update on AlohaCoin draft white paper.

Nation of Hawaii’s mission is to restore, maintain and preserve the sophisticated religion, language and culture of the Native Hawaiian people, who prior to the overthrow, lived in a highly organized, self-sufficient, subsistent social system based on Communal Land Tenure. (pre-mahele)